Lakeshore Records Releases Mr. Robot Soundtrack

Lakeshore has announced the release of the soundtrack for the Peabody and Golden Globe Award winning USA Network series Mr. Robot. The two volume set has been released both digitally and on CD; a special limited vinyl release from Lakeshore/Invada Records will follow in July. The soundtrack features music composed by Emmy-nominated composer Mac Quayle, who is known for his work on American Horror Story, Scream Queens and The People vs. O.J. Simpson.

“Music was the tool that allowed me to stay nimble and consistent with the show’s tone, even as we regularly pushed our main character to weirder and stranger places,” says Sam Esmail, Mr. Robot’s executive producer.

The series tells the story of a young programmer named Elliott Anderson (played by Rami Malek) who works in cyber security and lives a secret second life as a vigilante hacker. Elliott is recruited by a shadowy hacker group led by a mysterious man (Christian Slater) to take down the very firm that he works for by day. Elliot is torn between his loyalty to his career and his desire to fight against the corporations he believes are controlling the world. Aside from Malek, Mr. Robot’s cast also includes Carly Chaikin, Martin Wallstrom and Portia Doubleday.

“Elliot uses programming and social engineering techniques to seek and exploit weakness in computer networks, and I use programming and sonic engineering techniques to help enhance the emotional content of each scene,” said Quayle. “Armed with our computers and an arsenal of software tools, we both attempt to create and discover the right combination of notes and sounds that help tell the story.”

TV and film audiences around the world have been enthralled by Mac Quayle’s work. Many viewers will be familiar with the music he composed for the runaway hit FX series The People v. O.J. Simpson, which won acclaim from audiences and critics. Mac’s first Emmy nomination was for his work on the FX series American Horror Story: Freak Show, which starred Kathy Bates, Jessica Lange and Angela Bassett, among others. His work has been featured in more than 40 different television series and films; Quayle also has a lengthy list of credits as a session musician, producer and re-mixer. His music was also the sonic hallmark of American Horror Story: Hotel (starring Matt Bomer and Lady Gaga) and the Fox series Scream Queens.

Mac Quayle is also a prolific film composer. Along with Cliff Martinez, Quayle composed music for the Film District Critic’s Choice Award winning film Drive, the A24 film Spring Breakers and the Warner Brothers film Contagion, as well as the made for HBO film The Normal Heart.

Mac has also worked on literally hundreds of songs, including 40 #1 Billboard dance hits. His production on Donna Summer’s “I Will Go with You” earned the composer a Grammy nomination. He also holds a number of Platinum and Gold records and has worked with stars including New Order, Whitney Houston, Madonna, Depeche Mode, Britney Spears, Sting, Annie Lennox, Beyonce and many others.

“For this soundtrack, the idea was to include as much music as possible from Season 1 and organize it chronologically by episode,” Quayle described. He used an almost all electronic palette for the show, adding only one organic instrument – a piano. “A signature sound in the show is created from what I call ‘PaulStretch Textures’: audio that has been manipulated by a time stretching program is converted into a sampler instrument making it playable on a keyboard.”

Mr. Robot’s second season premieres July 13 at 10 EST/9CST on the USA Network.

Here is the Season 3 Trailer:

Copyright © Science Fiction Buzz